Spanish Keyboard Set-up and Codes

- 1. Click the status area in the bottom-right of your desktop.
- 2. The settings panel appears.
- 3. Select Settings.
- 4. Your Chromebook Settings page loads in the Chrome browser.
- 5. Scroll down to the Device section and click Keyboard Settings.
- 6. The Keyboard Settings dialog box appears.
- 7. Click the Change Language and Input Settings link at the bottom of the dialog box.
- 8. The Languages and Input dialog box appears, as shown in this figure.
- 9. The language you selected when setting up your device appears in the Languages pane on the left side of the dialog box.
- 10. Click the Add button at the bottom of that pane.
- 11. The Add Language dialog box appears.
- 12. Select Spanish (español) from the drop-down list of available languages.
- 13. Click OK.
- 14. Look to see that Spanish is added to the list of languages in the Languages pane.
- 15. Open the Input Method section, check the box for the Spanish keyboard(s).
- 16. Make sure both the English and Spanish keyboards are checked. Click Done.

To toggle between keyboards, hold Ctrl and click spacebar. In the lower left-hand corner, you will see ES for the Spanish keyboard and EN for the English keyboard.

The spanish keyboard is almost the same as an English keyboard except with a few additional shortcuts:

- To type an accented character, type an apostrophe ('), followed by the letter. For example, to get á, type ' and then a.
- To type ñ, tap the semicolon (;) key.
- To type j, tap the equal sign (=) key
- To type ¿, hold down shift and tap the equal sign (=) key